Sow’s Ear of the Month – Manners by Madonna

10 Sep

By now you’ve probably heard about Madonna’s major faux pas while promoting her new film, W.E.  To summarize: A fan gave her hydrangeas.  The fan walked away. Madonna made a nasty face and said “I loathe hydrangeas.”  This was of course caught on tape.  To make it worse, instead of apologizing or expressing genuine gratitude her rep (with typos) told CNN:

She’s entitled to like any flower she wants and she didn’t want to hurt the feeling of the hydrangeas of the world…No disrespect to the hydrangeas lovers of the world but she prefers different types of flowers.

Not only did Madonna sign up for a life in the spotlight, she’s been a world-famous celebrity for almost thirty years.  You would think in that time she would have learned that its easier to be gracious and kind than to be rude and thoughtless.

Eight years ago (fresh off the boat from Ohio) I met Idina Menzel and Kristen Chenowith at an event to promote  a special “Wicked” line of makeup.  It was thrilling!  The gals were signing CDs and little packages of expensive lipgloss at the Sephora store in Times Square.  When my turn came to meet Idina, I said, “thank you for all you do, you are an inspiration.” She looked at me, tossed her hair, and rolled her eyes. I could have cried it was so mean! Here I was, a little actress new to the big city and this extraordinarily talented performer that I admired made me feel like I didn’t exist. Of course, when I met Kristen Chenowith I received a big smile and most importantly a, “Thank you.”

I understand that it’s difficult to be a celebrity (I’m serious). Constant criticism of your hair, cellulite, and fashion choices must really get tiring. The difference is, when you sign up for the life of a performer and you are successful, you will be a public figure.  That means that part of your job is to be gracious and kind and smile and say thank you to fans who you may not feel like talking to. If you aren’t up for that challenge, then get out!

Madonna, its time to be put out to pasture, there is no excuse for your rudeness. I understand that the reviews for W.E. weren’t so hot. Too bad.

Leave a Reply

