Lake George and Buttons!

7 Sep

Over the weekend my bf and I went to Lake George for some sight-seeing and relaxation.  I of course made him pull over at every garage sale sign we came across.  A thrift-store and garage sailing trick I swear by is to stop at any thrift stores or garage sales that you may encounter while on vacation.

Amazing things can happen when you get out of your thrifting comfort zone. Once I stopped by a gigantic Salvation Army store in Indianapolis and found mountains of polar fleece sweatpants (fail) but a huge supply of immaculate vintage linens for virtually nothing (score). The trick is to keep digging.

The Lake George garage sale was just my speed. Two older ladies and and tent. Heaven.  And almost everything was CHEAP.

I of course was instantly drawn to the $4 brooches.

And was able to get the salesperson to reduce the price to $3 a pop!

What a bargain!  Just what I was looking for to go with my new suit.  Did I mention that I had a suit custom made for me in China?  Well, that is a post for another day!

My second purchase of the day was a Ziploc bag of buttons.  How can a bag of buttons be exciting you may ask?  Well, friends, its all about imagining the person who put together this little bag of buttons.

Several of the lot were still attached to their original cardboard.

I know I’ll be able to use these on some upcoming projects.

I washed and organized the rest of the  buttons, separating the wheat from the chaff.  Damaged buttons were tossed out, and clean buttons were washed and put aside. There were some real hits in the bunch!

I decided to organize my buttons in one of the mason jars I had left over from my ill-fated salsa stunt.

But the best part of this whole exercise is what I found at the bottom of the Ziploc. A smaller plastic bag containing this note:

And these sweet buttons.

I imagine that some nice older gal or fella created toys for a Christmas craft fair and these little bug eyes are just remnants.  Maybe I’ll be able to use them someday…I smell a toy making stunt coming on!

2 Responses to “Lake George and Buttons!”

  1. Gretchen September 8, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    This is the best stuntmen date! I just love old buttons. Perhaps they’ll turn up in our Sunday Season of Style.

Leave a Reply

