8 Responses to “Notes From a Farm Share Part 3”

  1. Mary Kickel September 2, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    a) the tomato drying is a fantastic idea! Think i will have to steal that RIGHT NOW!
    b) 8 years? Wow. Does it feel like 8 years?

    • Miss Robin September 2, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      a) Yes-you should really go for making the oven dried tomatoes!
      b) Hmmm, sometimes it feels like 8 years, but usually it doesn’t.

      • Mary Kickel September 6, 2011 at 9:03 am #

        Dude I tried the tomatoes and… it didn’t work! I suppose i could’ve left them in longer but after 6 hours, I was like, hm……. still wet. not dried.
        SO. I just pulled them off the pan, pulled the skins off (super easy) and bagged them and froze them.

  2. Miss Robin September 6, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Oh no! I wonder why? What kind of tomato did you use?

  3. SomeGirlinBklyn September 13, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    OMG! I kind of love the reference… the spice is za’atar:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Za%27atar
    The mix I gave is a blend of Jordanian and Lebanese za’atar… heck if I know the difference between the 2 though:)

    • Miss Robin September 13, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      YES! The mystery has been solved!!!

  4. SomeGirlinBklyn September 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    And how funny! The author of Put ‘Em Up was my canning teacher at TBK. Name Something Something=Sherri Brooks Vinton. LOVE oven dried tomatoes… I got my recipe from Gwyneth though (don’t I sound pretentious)

    • Miss Robin September 13, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Okay THAT’S the book I was thinking of! Put ’em Up! That’s so cool you took a class from her!!

Leave a Reply

