Canning Disasters

22 Aug

On Friday night, I decided to transform the 4.5 pounds of tomatoes I received in last week’s farm share into delicious, homey salsa.

Tomatoes

I’m a native Texan and salsa is serious business there.  However, I don’t come from a family of foodies, so I was never exposed to homemade salsa.  Good old fashioned medium Pace Picante was good enough for us. I would have continued dipping my tortilla chips into Pace forever had my desire to can never manifested itself.

4.5 pounds will yield 4 half-pint jars right?

I thought, If  I have extra salsa left over I can just save it in the fridge, no big deal.  So I plopped my 4 little jars in a stock pot to sterilize.

I blanched and peeled the tomatoes, removed the seeds and let them sit in a strainer to dry out with some salt for a spell.

After the jars were sterilized I added 1.5 tablespoons of lime juice to each jar – ready to be filled with salsa gloriousness!

Meanwhile I  chopped 1 onion, 2 green peppers, and 2 jalapeno peppers. I threw it all into a pot and added some cumin and cilantro.

Salsa in process

After the salsa came to a boil, I went to add it to the sterilized jars. And guess how much salsa there was? Enough to fill TWO of the jars.

The Finished Product

That would have been fine and dandy, except that it took three hours to make from soup to nuts and my kitchen looked like this when the whole stunt was through.

Filthy Kitchen

A big SOW’S EAR to my poor kitchen planning skills.

However, I turned this kitchen nightmare into a dream by creating the world’s most delicious limeade (just like at Braum’s back in Texas) by using the leftover lime juice, a teaspoon of agave, and soda water from my soda stream.

Limeade, A Silk Purse

4 Responses to “Canning Disasters”

  1. Gretchen August 22, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Oh golly! I love how you gave the whole exercise a positive spin. Enjoy that salsa and especially that limeade.

  2. Mary Kickel August 25, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I agree with Gretchen, the positive spin is a good thing. However, I cannot help but believe that this is why I am terrified of something like canning. 3 hours of work for 2 cans of salsa?! It really makes me appreciate that salsa from the grocery store that I just rip into like they are giving it away for free!

    • Miss Robin August 25, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      I think the trick is to stay away from canning tomatoes unless you are advanced. Cousin John and I were talking about this yesterday as he had a similar disaster with 25 pounds of tomatoes he was cooking down into pasta sauce. It ended up yielding only 5 jars. Ugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lake George and Buttons! « Silk Purse and Sow's Ear - September 7, 2011

    […] I decided to organize my buttons in one of the mason jars I had left over from my ill-fated salsa stunt. […]

Leave a Reply

