Notes from a Farm Share Part 2

17 Aug

Here’s what I took home this week from the farm share.

Greens  1lb
Peppers  3 ea.
Squash  1.15 lbs
Cucumber  1.5 lbs
Tomatoes  4.5  lbs
Watermelon  1ea.
Mint  .12 lbs
Perslaine  .12 lbs

This Week's Take

Lots and Lots of tomatoes.  I chose a really ripe one for my dinner salad and must admit it tasted so good it was vulgar.  I was afraid that it would be really mealy and gross (what these kind of big tomatoes always taste like to me) and oh my it wasn’t!  Wow.

Vulgar Tomatoes

Very recently I came to the realization that my cooking has seriously stalled since developing lactose intolerance a few years back. Just saying “lactose intolerance” is embarrassing. I hate it. Can you imagine never being able to eat a fresh slice of cheddar cheese—so sharp it makes your tastebuds snap to attention?  Or cream cheese and lox?  Let’s not get started with ice cream because I might cry.  The Texas food that I grew up with was laden with cheese—every casserole, every dip, everything. So for the past few years, I’ve eaten the same dinner every night: salad with tofu and croutons. Making anything else just doesn’t seem worth it.  Who cares if you can’t have cheese?

The good news is I’m going to try and change.  Belonging to a farm share is helping me to branch out and try new recipes or re-imagine the old.

Mermie's Squash

 When I moved into my first apartment, my mom asked some of her friends and relatives to put together a recipe book for me. My grandmother Mermie’s contributions included not only squash casserole, but fried okra, meatballs, pretzel salad (consisting of pretzels, butter, cream cheese, sugar, water cool whip, and strawberry jell0), and cranberry jello salad. Remember friends, jello is a salad not a dessert.
Tonight, I made Mermie’s squash casserole, dairy free.

Squash

I sliced two big yellow squash and a half of a yellow onion and then threw them into a pot of salted water to boil.  I really wanted more than half of an onion but that’s all I had so I added some green onions.  I’m not sure if its ok to boil green onions, but I went for it anyway.  I only used the white part and saved the green ends for salad.

Boiling Squash

Once everything is all boiled down, drain it.  And then drain it again.  You really want to get as much moisture out as you can.
Then smash it all together like so.

Smashing Squash and Onions

Next add one can of hominy (you can find it in the Goya aisle) and two beaten eggs. Pour into a casserole dish, crumble some saltines on top and add soy cheese if desired. Bake for 30 minutes at 325.  The hominy makes all the difference.  It really helps fill the void that is left by no cheese.  It gives the dish a homey-heartiness.

Squash Casserole with Faux Cheese

Mermie’s Casserole (Robin’s Version – 2011)
2 large yellow squash
1 large yellow onion
2 beaten eggs
1 can hominy (regular, not giant sized)
5 crumbled saltine crackers (0r panko or breadcrumbs or whatever)
4 slices soy cheese
Preheat oven to 325
In salted water, cook squash and onions until tender (poke with a fork).
Drain (and drain again), mash mixture, adding 2 beaten eggs.  Stir in hominy.
Pour mixture into a casserole dish and put soy cheese (or if your lucky soul is able, regular cheddar cheese – use 1/2 a cup) and 5 crumbled saltines on top. Bake for 30 minutes or until you feel like its probably ready.

Squash Casserole - up close and personal

4 Responses to “Notes from a Farm Share Part 2”

  1. SomeGirlinBklyn August 18, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Ooh, what kind of faux cheese? I had some pretty good experiences with daiya, and love how it comes in different flavors. All those things sound like a really great gazpacho, or grab and eggplant and you’ve got ratatouille! Not that you’re vegan, but this site is great for interesting veggie friendly meals… plus her kiddo is super cute…
    http://ohdeardrea.blogspot.com/search/label/diet%20water

  2. Mary Kickel August 25, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Girl, that looks really really good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Canning Disasters « Silk Purse and Sow's Ear - August 22, 2011

    […] Friday night, I decided to transform the 4.5 pounds of tomatoes I received in last week’s farm share into delicious, homey salsa. […]

  2. Oh Canada! « Silk Purse and Sow's Ear - October 17, 2011

    […] food that connects me back to something meaningful, to a memory or lots of memories, like my grandmother’s squash casserole.  BUT how does one do this when they have terrible dietary limitations that basically ruin their […]

Leave a Reply

