Quick Swiss Chard Update

4 Aug

Friends, I did it.  I cooked the greens.  I learned from Alicia that they are actually Swiss chard.

A big piece of Swiss chard

Ahhh…okay.  So I guess the thing to do is take the stems off of them.

Removing the stems

And then cook them.

Okay, at this step I panicked a bit.  I added garlic powder, 3 tablespoons of butter, olive oil, salt, and water.  Then at the last minute I put mustard seeds in.

cooking

Wait.  Look how small its getting!  It started out as GIANT leaves!

Those cheap Swiss people, that’s the last time I buy ANYTHING from them! And now this is all we are left with…

The finished product

SAY WHAT?  That’s like half a serving.  What a gyp!!!

At least I made use of the stems and made quick refrigerator pickles.  They taste weird though because I went against their true nature (they are a tad sweet) and made them all dill-y and vinegar-y.  I did properly blanch them (that’s when you put them in water for a minute right?) and then slapped them in ice water before putting them in my weirdo dilly brine.

You can’t turn a Swiss chard stem into an okra pod, Robin.

 

4 Responses to “Quick Swiss Chard Update”

  1. SomeGirlinBklyn August 8, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Haha love it! Although I hate buying a whole bushel of leafy greens thinking it’ll last me so many meals and in one fell swoop it’s all used. All the same, they are delicious.

    • Miss Robin August 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I know, right! That’s the worst!

  2. Mary Kickel August 25, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    You could also chop up the stems and add them to the pot. That way you have a little crunch with your mush. Yeah. Those green leafy things really cook down into nothing. Again, it makes me appreciate how much spinach is in a frozen spinach block in the grocery.

    • Miss Robin August 25, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      That is really true about frozen spinach!

Leave a Reply

